The OSU-Cascades Diversity Council meets on the third Thursday of the month.


Diversity Council

Diversity Council Goals and Strategies

Goal One: Provide ongoing opportunities for faculty, staff and students to increase their understanding of the benefits of a diverse and inclusive campus community and to develop skills to facilitate such a community.

  • Develop ongoing programs in multiculturalism open to staff, faculty and students.
  • Develop diversity training for New Student Orientation and new faculty and staff orientation.

Goal Two: Identify, assess and communicate the diversity resources that are available for students, faculty and staff.

  • Ensure OSU-Cascades diversity website lists resources available at OSU-Cascades with links to the Office of Equal Opportunity and Access in Corvallis as needed.
  • Create a yearly survey for students/faculty/staff to assess our work in diversity.

Goal Three: Develop and implement plan/strategies for recruitment and retention of faculty, staff and students of color.

  • Offer Search Advocacy training for our staff and faculty and have all Diversity Council members participate in this training.
  • Make diversity an important aspect of the yearly evaluation and promotion system for all faculty and staff.
  • Work with Recruitment and Student Success in recruitment and retention of students of color.

Goal Four: Create a welcoming and inclusive campus for all students, faculty and staff.

  • Develop a space in the new campus construction for a Multicultural Center.
  • Develop ongoing programs that stress the importance of diversity.

Goal Five: Provide educational opportunities for students that develop the skills necessary to live and work in a multicultural world.

  • Create a First-Year Experience that integrates multiculturalism.
  • Work with faculty to implement and integrate multiculturalism into existing and new curriculum.


Chantelle Combe
Edward Ewe
Stefani Maerki
Carmen Martinez
Emily McDonald
Zola Nkansah
Steve Pitman
Lura Reed
Jennifer Reimer
Erin Rook (Chair)
Kristin Steinke
Shane Voudren