Chris Hagen, Assistant Professor, Energy Systems Engineering. Hagen is director of the Energy Systems Lab.

Feb 13, 2017

Chris Hagen, an engineering professor and researcher at Oregon State University – Cascades, has been selected as a 2017 SAE International Ralph R. Teetor Educational Award recipient.  The award recognizes top young engineering educators in the nation.

SAE International is a global association of more than 123,000 engineers and related technical experts in the aerospace, automotive and commercial vehicle industries. 

Hagen teaches in OSU-Cascades energy systems engineering program.  He is only the second OSU faculty recipient of this award since it was established in 1963. He has been actively involved in SAE nationally, organizing seven conference sessions, and publishing and reviewing research papers.

His research explores energy conversion within advanced internal combustion engines and using unconventional fuels, control systems and sensor development. Hagen is the director of the Energy Systems Lab at OSU-Cascades and his research team includes undergraduate and graduate students, as well postdoctoral scholars. Since 2012, his research has generated $3.3 million in funding. 

Technology innovated by Hagen was licensed to OnBoard Dynamics, a Bend-based company in in 2013.  OnBoard Dynamics is the first spin-off company resulting from research underway at OSU-Cascades.

The award will be presented in April at the SAE World Congress in Detroit, where Hagen will be hosted for a tour of local engineering companies and honored at a reception.

Hagen was the 2016 recipient of the OSU Graduate School Postdoctoral Mentoring Award and of the 2016 OSU Faculty Innovator Award.

About OSU-Cascades: Oregon State University’s branch campus in Bend, Ore., features outstanding faculty in degree programs that reflect Central Oregon’s vibrant economy and abundant natural resources. Nearly 20 undergraduate majors, 30 minors and options, and four graduate programs include computer science, energy systems engineering, kinesiology, hospitality management, and tourism and outdoor leadership. The branch campus expanded to a four-year university in fall 2015; its new campus opened in fall 2016.