2018 Employee Awards celebrate faculty, staff achievements at OSU-Cascades

OSU-Cascades employee award winners
OSU-Cascades 2018 Employee Award recipients with Vice President Becky Johnson (from left to right): Jenna Goldsmith, Donna Harris, Becky Johnson, Tori Howe, Amy Watson and Ron Reuter. Not pictured: Yong Bakos.
July 9, 2018

Oregon State University – Cascades recently recognized recipients of the 2018 Employee Awards.  The awards recognize faculty and staff in the areas of diversity, equity and inclusion; outreach; outstanding staff; scholarship and creative activity; sustainability; and teaching excellence.

The recipients are:

Jenna Goldsmith, writing instructor and co-chair of the campus Diversity Committee received the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award. Goldsmith was recognized for increasing social justice and Safezone training opportunities for students and employees, as well as for her work with the OSU-Cascades graduate teaching program and the High Desert Education Service District to cultivate inclusive learning environments for K-12 LGBTQ students. Goldsmith is also the faculty advisor to the student Equal Rights Alliance organization.

Yong Bakos, a computer science instructor, received the Outreach Award for his extensive work championing computer programming to area K-12 students, aligning undergraduate studies with industry needs, and connecting undergraduate computer science students to job opportunities outside the classroom. Bakos was instrumental in bringing K-12 students to campus, including ChickTech and Bend Creative Coding. His volunteer work has included developing open-source software programs for local nonprofits including Sky View Middle School.

Donna Harris provides staff support to the graduate counseling, teaching and creative writing programs and received the Outstanding Staff Award for her excelling in her role.  She serves as the liaison to state licensure agencies and implemented online software to better serve the reporting needs for state and national agencies.  She also supported the counseling program’s coordination of materials for CACREP accreditation needs.

Satoris (Tori) Howes, an associate professor and lead of the business program received the Scholarship and Creative Activity.  Howes was recognized for the impact of her research; her work is in industrial and organizational psychology.  Recent publications include two with high rankings from  the Association of Business Schools.  Her work focuses on timely issues including gender disparity in the workforce, contingent workers and feelings of invisibility within their professions, and stress experienced by work-linked couples.

Ron Reuter, an associate professor in the natural resources program received the Sustainability Award. Reuter sets an example by incorporating values of sustainability into teaching, community service and daily life.  In a current issues course, Reuter took undergraduate students to local elementary schools to engage students in sustainability practices. He served on the board of Commute Options for five years, and commutes year-round by bike.  He is also well known for practices like bringing his personal silverware and dishware to events to minimize waste.

Amy Watson, an assistant professor of marketing in the business program received the Teaching Excellence Award.  A student favorite, Watson uses non-traditional curriculum in her classes to provide current and real-world resources for students, and also to teach adaptability and better reflect today’s business environment. An example, Watson partnered with local companies who served as customers for students in an integrated marketing communications class, where students created and managed digital ad campaigns, using customer budgets and assets.

Note to Editors: Digital images of award recipients are available for download and use with this article: https://bit.ly/2unF4bk.

About OSU-Cascades: Oregon State University’s campus in Bend, Ore., features outstanding faculty in degree programs that reflect Central Oregon’s vibrant economy and abundant natural resources. Nearly 20 undergraduate majors, 30 minors and options, and three graduate programs include computer science, energy systems engineering, kinesiology, hospitality management, and tourism, recreation and adventure leadership. The campus expanded to a four-year university in 2015; its new campus opened in 2016.