The OSU-Cascades Diversity Committee meets on the third Thursday of the month.


Diversity Committee

Diversity Committee Goals and Strategies

Goal One: Provide ongoing opportunities for faculty, staff and students to increase their understanding of the benefits of a diverse and inclusive campus community and to develop skills to facilitate such a community.

  • Develop ongoing programs in multiculturalism open to staff, faculty and students.
  • Develop diversity training for New Student Orientation and new faculty and staff orientation.

Goal Two: Identify, assess and communicate the diversity resources that are available for students, faculty and staff.

  • Ensure OSU-Cascades diversity website lists resources available at OSU-Cascades with links to the Office of Equal Opportunity and Access in Corvallis as needed.
  • Create a yearly survey for students/faculty/staff to assess our work in diversity.

Goal Three: Develop and implement plan/strategies for recruitment and retention of faculty, staff and students of color.

  • Offer Search Advocacy training for our staff and faculty and have all Diversity Committee members participate in this training.
  • Make diversity an important aspect of the yearly evaluation and promotion system for all faculty and staff.
  • Work with Recruitment and Student Success in recruitment and retention of students of color.

Goal Four: Create a welcoming and inclusive campus for all students, faculty and staff.

  • Develop a space in the new campus construction for a Multicultural Center.
  • Develop ongoing programs that stress the importance of diversity.

Goal Five: Provide educational opportunities for students that develop the skills necessary to live and work in a multicultural world.

  • Create a First-Year Experience that integrates multiculturalism.
  • Work with faculty to implement and integrate multiculturalism into existing and new curriculum.


Stephanie Beamer
Kathy Biles
Jim Bouziane
Heather Broughton
Sara Freedman
Debbie Goff
Jenna Goldsmith (Co-Chair)
Donna Harris
Andrew Ketsdever
Kreg Lindberg
Nick Martin (Co-Chair)
Carmen Martinez
Desiree Ness
Zola Nkansah
Diane Pritchard
Lura Reed
Erin Rook
Norm Rush